price
How much do oil painting reproductions cost?
Seven studios priced at three sizes for one painting, the wage and canvas arithmetic behind those prices, and the customs bill nobody quotes.
Oil Painting ReproductionsUpdated
The short answer
A hand-painted oil reproduction costs $99 to $1,300 depending on size and studio. At about 30x24 inches the seven studios that could be priced on 2026-09-05 ranged from $239 to $1,117, unframed. Frames add $199 to $340.
What you actually pay: 8 studios, 3 sizes
Every studio publishes a different ladder for the same painting, so the only honest comparison is one painting priced across all of them on the same day. Below is Vincent van Gogh's The Starry Night, hand-painted, unframed, at three sizes, read off each studio's own product page on 2026-09-05. Where a studio does not sell one of those exact sizes, the nearest size it does sell is named in the row.
| Studio | About 20x16 in | About 30x24 in | About 48x36 in | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| overstockArt | $149 (16x20) | $239 (24x36) | $349 (36x48) | Cheapest at every size. Ships rolled; this image is flagged pre-order, 6 to 8 weeks. |
| HandmadePiece | $251 (16x20) | $376 (24x30) | $557 (36x44) | Base 14x18 in at $224 plus a fixed surcharge per size. Linen canvas; 60-day return. |
| Art & See | $299.95 | $430.95 | $599.95 | Same published ladder on every painting checked. Photo of the finished piece sent for approval before shipping. |
| 1st Art Gallery | $362.95 | $481.95 | $677.95 | Every price is half of a list price shown under a permanent site-wide 50 percent banner. 21 to 28 business days. |
| BrushWiz | $300 (22x18) | $354 (28x24) | $498 (46x38) | Only the 22x18 price is displayed; the other two come from the store's own size ladder in the page data. |
| Reproduction Gallery | Not sold below 23.2 x 29.5 in | $299 (23.2 x 29.5) | $587 (37.0 x 47.2) | Forty-eight sizes up to 94.5 x 120.1 in. Ships rolled from a studio in Thailand. |
| TOPofART | Not offered | $1,116.87 (29.0 x 36.3) | Not offered | One size only, matching the original. New oil painting orders were suspended on the day of collection. |
| ArtsHeaven | No data | No data | No data | The domain did not resolve on 2026-09-05: Cloudflare returned no reachable authority for artsheaven.com. |
Prices collected on 2026-09-05 from each studio's public product page for The Starry Night, unframed. Sizes are inches, width by height as each store writes them.
Anatomy of the price
Two components of a reproduction can be priced from published figures rather than guessed at: the canvas, and the painter's hours at a legal wage floor. Everything else has to come out of the difference. Below is that arithmetic done in the open, with one warning attached to it. No studio in this comparison publishes where its paintings are made, on what cloth, or for how many hours. The cloth, the hours and the country in the chart below are therefore this article's assumptions, chosen to be conservative, and the retail prices are the only part of it that any studio has stated. Where a studio does say something about materials, it is worth more than any model: Art & See's about-us page claims Belgian linen canvas, professional-grade oil paints and archival stretcher bars, which if true would put its canvas cost nearer the linen figure below than the cotton one.
Canvas. A 30x24 inch painting needs about 38x32 inches of cloth once you allow four inches on every side for stretching, which is 0.7845 square metres. Jackson's listed universal-primed 8 oz cotton duck at $23.12 per running metre on a 183 cm roll on 2026-09-05, reduced from a list price of $28.90; at the offer price that is $12.63 per square metre and the cotton for this painting comes to $9.91, and at list it is $15.79 and $12.39. The same area in Claessens No. 13 oil-primed Belgian linen, at $151.50 per metre on a 210 cm roll, is $72.14 per square metre, or $56.60. All three prices read on the same day.
Hours. Studios describe 40 to 80 hours for a complex reproduction. Take a conservative 35 hours for a 30x24. Shenzhen's part-time hourly minimum is 25.4 yuan from 1 September 2026, which at the European Central Bank rate of 6.7109 yuan to the dollar on 2026-09-04 is $3.79 an hour, so 35 hours at the legal floor is $132. Bulgaria's minimum wage is 620 euro a month as at January 2026, which over a 168-hour month is $4.29 an hour and $150 for the same 35 hours.
Read the chart the right way round. If a $239 painting were made on cotton duck in 35 hours at the Shenzhen floor, the residual would be $97, and out of that would have to come every material other than canvas, the shipping, the studio, the website and the margin. That is a thin business, and it is the most generous reading available of a price that low. At the other end, if a $1,117 painting were made on Belgian linen in 45 hours at the Bulgarian floor, the residual would be $848 -- and the honest reading of that is not that somebody is pocketing $848, but that the painter is being paid a multiple of the legal minimum, for longer, on better cloth. The process article sets out what the extra hours are spent on.
Why size is non-linear
Doubling the height and width of a painting quadruples the canvas but nowhere near quadruples the price, and the size ladders prove it. At overstockArt, going from 8x10 to 36x48 inches multiplies the canvas area by 21.6 and the price by 3.5, so the price per square inch falls from $1.24 to $0.20. At Reproduction Gallery, going from 23.2x29.5 to 94.5x120.1 inches multiplies the area by 16.6 and the price by 5.8.
The reason is that most of what you are paying for does not scale with area. Sourcing a good reference file, transferring the drawing, mixing the palette, the drying schedule between layers, the photograph sent for approval, the packing and the freight are all close to fixed. Only the paint, the cloth and the time spent covering ground grow with the canvas, and covering ground is the fastest part of the job.
The practical consequence is that small reproductions are poor value per square inch and large ones are good value. If you are choosing between two sizes and the wall can take the larger, the larger is almost always the better buy, which is the opposite of the advice that most furniture retailers give.
Why complexity adds
Two paintings of the same size are not the same job. Most studios price by area anyway, which means complexity is absorbed into the schedule rather than the invoice, and shows up as a longer wait or a weaker copy rather than a higher price. Art & See's published shipping policy is explicit about this: two to three weeks typically, extending to four by complexity and up to eight weeks for large or intricate pieces.
- Heavy impasto. Van Gogh, Monet's late work, Rembrandt's highlights. Thick paint has to be built in passes with drying time between them, and the drying, not the painting, is what adds weeks. A copy that skips it will have the shape of the brushwork and not the height.
- Gold and metal leaf. Klimt's gold ground pieces need a real leaf and bole process or they look like yellow paint, which is exactly what cheap copies of The Kiss look like. Studios that will not quote separately for leaf are almost certainly painting it.
- Many figures and faces. A crowd scene is many small drawings, each of which can be visibly wrong. Compare a copy of The Last Supper with a copy of a landscape at the same price and the landscape will be the better object.
- Deep glazing. Vermeer and the Dutch interiors get their light from thin transparent layers over a dry underlayer. Painting it in one pass takes a fraction of the time and produces a flat, chalky result that no amount of varnish fixes.
- Large uniform grounds. Counter-intuitively, these make a painting cheaper per square inch, which is why very large simple compositions are the best value on any size ladder.
China vs Eastern vs Western Europe
Origin is the largest single variable in the price, and the mechanism is not mysterious. Below are the statutory wage floors in the places reproductions are actually painted, converted at one day's exchange rates, with what 35 painter-hours costs at each. These are floors, not what a skilled copyist earns; a studio paying the minimum is at the bottom of its own market.
| Where the painting is made | Statutory minimum, monthly | Implied hourly | 35 hours at that rate | Bare floor: those hours plus the cotton | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shenzhen, China | 2,700 CNY | 25.4 CNY ($3.79) | $132 | $142 | Shenzhen municipal standard, effective 1 September 2026 |
| Bulgaria | 620 EUR | 3.69 EUR ($4.29) | $150 | $160 | Eurostat minimum wages, 1 January 2026 |
| Romania | 795 EUR | 4.73 EUR ($5.50) | $193 | $203 | Eurostat minimum wages, 1 January 2026 |
| Poland | 1,139 EUR | 6.78 EUR ($7.88) | $276 | $286 | Eurostat minimum wages, 1 January 2026 |
| Germany | 2,343 EUR | 13.95 EUR ($16.21) | $567 | $577 | Eurostat minimum wages, 1 January 2026 |
Monthly minimums converted to hourly at 168 hours except Shenzhen, where the published part-time hourly floor is used directly. Currency converted at European Central Bank reference rates of 2026-09-04: 6.7109 CNY and 0.86044 EUR to the dollar. The last column adds $9.91 of cotton duck and stops there: it counts no paint, no stretcher, no packing, no freight, no overhead and no margin, so a retail price below it cannot be what it says it is.
Put the two tables side by side and one number does all the work: the cheapest complete 24x36 inch hand-painted reproduction in this comparison costs $239, which is less than half of what 35 hours at the German minimum wage costs before anyone buys cloth. A studio advertising European painting at Chinese prices is describing something that cannot be true, and the China and Dafen article covers how the sourcing actually works.
Turnaround follows the same logic. Nobody who paints to order is fast, and a studio promising a hand-painted canvas in under two weeks is either holding stock or not painting it. The table below sets out what each studio actually states about origin, price, turnaround and materials. The most useful column is the last one, and the most common entry in it is nothing.
| Studio | Stated origin | Price at about 30x24 in | Stated turnaround | Stated material |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| overstockArt | Not stated | $239 (24x36) | 6 to 8 weeks, pre-order flag on this image | Hand-painted oil on canvas; no fibre named |
| HandmadePiece | Not stated | $376 (24x30) | Preview within 3 weeks, arrival within a month | Artist-level linen canvas |
| Art & See | Artists in several countries; the shipping origin varies by artist | $430.95 | 2 to 3 weeks, up to 8 for large or intricate work | Belgian linen canvas, professional-grade oil paints, archival stretcher bars |
| 1st Art Gallery | Painted by European academy-trained artists | $481.95 | 21 to 28 business days unframed, 5 to 7 days more framed | Artist-grade canvas; no fibre named |
| BrushWiz | Not stated | $354 (28x24) | 14 to 21 days | Acid-free canvas, 100 percent cotton fibre |
| Reproduction Gallery | Ships from its studio in Thailand | $299 (23.2 x 29.5) | Not stated on the product page | Hand-painted oil on canvas; no fibre named |
| TOPofART | Painted by European artists with academic training | $1,116.87 (29.0 x 36.3) | 8 to 9 weeks to paint, then 15 to 25 business days standard shipping | Artist-graded materials and linen canvas |
Every cell is what the studio itself said on its public pages on 2026-09-05, or an explicit note that it said nothing. Art & See's material and origin statements come from its about-us and shipping pages. None of these claims was independently verified; the point of the table is what a buyer can hold a studio to.
Red flags under $100
Only one price under $100 in this whole comparison is credible, and it is overstockArt's 8x10 inch at $99: a canvas of 80 square inches, which is a postcard on a stretcher. Below that the arithmetic stops working, and here is where it stops. At 30x24 inches the cotton alone costs $9.91 and 35 hours at the lowest wage floor in the table costs $132. A $99 painting at that size has spent less than nothing on labour.
- A large hand-painted canvas under $100. The canvas and the legal minimum wage for the hours already exceed the price. Something in the description is untrue, and it is usually the words hand-painted.
- A permanent discount. A banner that has said 50 percent off site-wide for years is not a discount, it is the price. It matters because it trains you to compare a fictional list price rather than the real one.
- Hand-embellished, hand-finished, artist-enhanced. All three describe a print with something applied over it. The format comparison sets out how to tell in five seconds with a loupe.
- No photograph of your actual painting before it ships. Studios that paint to order can send one; several in this table do. A studio that cannot is either shipping from stock or shipping something it would rather you saw only after paying.
- No published size ladder. Quote-only pricing on a mass-market reproduction usually means the price is set by what the enquiry looks like it can bear.
- A frame price that only appears at checkout. Frames were the largest single add-on in this comparison, at up to $340.
Is paying more worth it?
Between $99 and $250 you are mostly buying size and a shorter queue. Between $250 and $600 you are buying materials and hours: linen instead of cotton duck, layers instead of a single pass, and enough time in the schedule for the paint to dry between them. Above $600 you are buying a specific painter's skill, and the difference is real but it is the smallest step of the three per dollar spent.
The most reliable way to spend an extra hundred dollars well is on the things you can verify in writing before you pay: the support, the number of layers, whether the sides are painted, and whether a photograph of the finished piece comes to you for approval before it is packed. Art & See publishes that last one as policy, along with free worldwide shipping and a full refund on cancellation within 24 hours; its price ladder runs from $249.95 at 16x16 in to $1,299.95 at 72x48 in, unframed. The ten museum-quality criteria are the checklist to send a studio before ordering. Paying more does not buy you a resale value either, which the piece on what reproductions are worth sets out in full; and if you are shortlisting studios rather than sizes, start with the company comparison and the most-reproduced paintings.
Where to buy
Three routes at three price points, with what each one costs you. Prices are the published ladders as at 2026-09-05.
Mid-market and the most predictable of the seven that could be priced: one published ladder, from $249.95 at 16x16 in to $1,299.95 at 72x48 in, that applied to every painting checked, plus free worldwide shipping, an approval photograph before dispatch and a 24-hour cancellation window for a full refund; at the top of that ladder it is the dearest of the four studios charted above.
Art & See- overstockArt — The cheapest hand-painted route in this comparison at every size, $149 for 16x20 and $349 for 36x48, with 45-day free returns; you pay for it in catalogue depth and in a 6 to 8 week wait on popular images.
- Reproduction Gallery — Forty-eight sizes for a single painting and a much larger catalogue than any other studio here, which is the right choice for an unusual size or an obscure image; nothing smaller than 23.2 x 29.5 in, so it cannot serve a small wall.
Check the published ladder against your wall size before you order anywhere.
See the price ladderFrequently asked questions
What is the cheapest size worth buying?
The cheapest is not the best value. At overstockArt an 8x10 inch costs $99, which is $1.24 per square inch; the 36x48 inch costs $349, which is $0.20 per square inch. Almost all the cost of a reproduction is fixed rather than proportional to area, so the smallest sizes carry the whole overhead on very little canvas.
Why is one reproduction $80 and another $800?
Three things, in order of size: where it is painted, how many hours go into it, and what it is painted on. Thirty-five hours at the Shenzhen minimum wage is $132; the same hours at the German minimum is $567. Cotton duck for a 30x24 costs $9.91 and Belgian linen costs $56.60. An $80 painting has not paid for either at the levels an $800 painting has.
Is a frame included in the price?
Almost never. Every price in the table above is unframed, and five of the eight studios ship the canvas rolled in a tube. Frames were quoted at $199 to $219 by overstockArt and $300 to $340 by BrushWiz, while TOPofART states it will not frame oil paintings at all because of the transport risk.
Will I pay customs duty in the US, UK or EU?
In the UK, imported works of art are valued so that the effective VAT rate is 5 percent, which on a $430.95 painting is $21.55. In Germany, imports of works of art carry 7 percent, which is $30.17; that import rate is long-standing, and what changed on 1 January 2025 is that the 2024 Annual Tax Act brought domestic sales and intra-EU acquisitions of art back to 7 percent as well, after a decade at 19. In the US, paintings executed entirely by hand under HTSUS heading 9701 are duty-free, but that heading excludes hand-painted manufactured articles, and the $800 de minimis exemption was suspended for all countries on 29 August 2025, so low-value shipments are no longer automatically clear.
What does a custom size cost?
On studios that publish a ladder, a custom size is priced by area between the two nearest steps, so it costs roughly what its area costs. Reproduction Gallery lists 48 sizes for one painting from $299 to $1,722, which is fine enough that a custom quote is rarely needed. Studios that only quote on request should be asked for the price of the two nearest standard sizes as a sanity check.
Do studios take a deposit?
The studios in this comparison charge in full at checkout rather than taking a deposit. PortraitFlip, which is not in the table, advertises 20 percent in advance with the balance after approval. Where full payment is taken up front, the protection that matters is the cancellation window and the approval photograph: Art & See publishes a full refund on cancellation within 24 hours of ordering and a photograph of the finished piece before it ships.
Sources
- Starry Night, hand-painted reproduction: full size and price ladder — overstockArt. Accessed September 5, 2026.
- The Starry Night handmade oil painting reproduction: size surcharges — HandmadePiece. Accessed September 5, 2026.
- Starry Night 1889: 48 sizes from 23.2 x 29.5 in to 94.5 x 120.1 in — Reproduction Gallery. Accessed September 5, 2026.
- Starry Night: oil painting reproduction, single size, and canvas print price — TOPofART. Accessed September 5, 2026.
- Now available: first 2026 data on minimum wages — Eurostat. Accessed September 5, 2026.
- Claessens Oil Primed Extra Fine Linen No. 13, 325 gsm, 2.1 m wide, per metre — Jackson's Art Supplies. Accessed September 5, 2026.
- Imports (VAT Notice 702), section 11: reduced valuation for works of art — HM Revenue and Customs. Accessed September 5, 2026.
- Suspension of Duty-Free De Minimis Treatment, fact sheet — US Customs and Border Protection. Accessed September 5, 2026.
- Reproduction paintings price list — PortraitFlip. Accessed September 5, 2026.
- Jackson's Medium Cotton Duck Canvas, 271 gsm (8 oz), universal primed, 183 cm, per metre — Jackson's Art Supplies. Accessed September 5, 2026.
- Notice on adjusting the minimum wage standard of Shenzhen (2,700 CNY monthly, 25.4 CNY hourly, from 1 September 2026) — Shenzhen Municipal Human Resources and Social Security Bureau. Accessed September 5, 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates, 4 September 2026 — European Central Bank. Accessed September 5, 2026.
Keep reading
comparison
Hand-painted oil painting reproduction vs canvas print
Twelve criteria, a 40-year cost table and the five cases where a print is the better buy. Prices from seven studios, collected 2026-09-05.
price
Are Oil Painting Reproductions Worth Anything?
Most painted copies have no resale value. Four kinds do — with auction evidence, an identification checklist, and realistic prices for selling one.
buying
The best oil painting reproduction companies (2026): our ranking, and the ten criteria behind it
Our ranking of eight hand-painted reproduction companies, with ten criteria measured on each store's own pages and a URL and date behind every cell.
buying
Museum Quality Oil Painting Reproductions: 10 Things You Can Actually Check
"Museum quality" has no regulator and no standard. Ten criteria you can verify, a five-minute test to run at home, and six questions to ask a studio.
buying
Oil Painting Reproductions From China: The Buyer's Guide to Dafen
What Dafen is, what changes between quality tiers, how Western stores mark up, and the real cost of importing direct — duties, timelines and risk.
catalog
The 20 most popular oil painting reproductions, and what each one costs to copy well
The 20 paintings ordered most often, cross-checked against five stores' own bestseller lists, with museum, original size, difficulty and price for each.